Complete Guide to the Different Types of Fire Risk Assessments

different types of fire risk assessments

Read ahead to learn about the four types of fire risk assessments that building proprietors must consider, and when more comprehensive FRAs are necessary.

Those overseeing buildings bear a legal obligation to conduct fire risk assessments. Employers, building owners, and landlords must guarantee that the buildings under their purview undergo assessments to pinpoint fire risks and hazards, along with necessary measures for risk reduction.

Types of Fire Risk Assessments

The requisite type of fire risk assessment depends on the building’s purpose, usage, and findings from inspections.

Type 1 Fire Risk Assessments

Non-destructive and typically the most common, a Type 1 FRA evaluates common areas, like shared lobbies in flats, excluding individual dwellings.  In some cases, a Type 1 FRA will inspect construction points between individual dwellings (such as shared supportive walls) – but mostly, it isn’t necessary. It ensures that these spaces facilitate safe evacuation in case of a fire through features such as clear entry & exit signage.

The results of a Type 1 FRA might necessitate additional assessments, with reasons for the requirement outlined.

Type 2 Fire Risk Assessments

Type 2 FRAs are infrequent and typically recommended after a Type 1 FRA indicates serious structural flaws that increase the risk of fire spreading. They involve destructive sampling, requiring contractor involvement and costs.

Type 3 Fire Risk Assessments

Exhaustive and surpassing legal requirements, Type 3 FRAs cover all common areas and individual dwellings, focusing on escapes, structures, and compartmentation. Non-destructive, they are usually only considered when fire risks within individual dwellings are identified.

Type 4 Fire Risk Assessments

Comparable to Type 2 FRAs but more comprehensive, Type 4 FRAs involve destructive sampling in both common areas of a building and living areas (such as apartments). As they are more comprehensive, they’re more complicated to complete. This is due to the requirement of access to individual dwellings, as well as the potential need for repair post destructive sampling.

Required only within limited circumstances, Type 4 FRAs are usually only suggested if there is reason to believe both common parts & individual dwellings of a building are facing serious defects.

Determining the Needed Assessment

Most buildings suffice with a Type 1 FRA, especially if the building is not new. Other types are generally warranted if a Type 1 assessment reveals risks or justifications for a more detailed evaluation.

For instance, inaccessible areas discovered in a Type 1 FRA may prompt recommendations for a Type 2 or Type 4 FRA, involving destructive sampling.

Outcomes of Fire Risk Assessments

Destructive FRAs often necessitate building work to mitigate identified fire risks, such as enhanced ventilation or additional fire compartmentation like fire doors.

Asbestos Considerations

Pre-2000 constructions prompt asbestos considerations before Type 2 or Type 4 FRAs, requiring a Refurbishment and Demolition survey to identify risks of destructive sampling.

Who Can Conduct a Fire Risk Assessment?

The building’s responsible person must appoint a competent person for the assessment. Contact our team of highly trained fire safety risk assessors, skilled in identifying risks across Commercial Retail Spaces, Residential Communal Areas, and Care Homes. Trust us for a comprehensive hazard analysis and peace of mind.

Learn more about our services by connecting directly with our dedicated team. Please contact us or request a quote online.